Rider, WFHS Players on All-District Team

Rider's Deron Royster took home the District 4-4A Most Valuable Player award Wednesday, the only district special honor not to go to Denton Ryan.

Royster ran for 881 yards and 15 touchdown in district play, as the Raiders went 5-1.

Six other Rider Raiders and three WFHS Coyotes made the all-District first team.

Here is the full list of local players on the team:

First-Team Offense:

RB J.T. Barrett, So., Rider
WR Diondre Singleton, Jr., WFHS
TE Clarke Daugherty, Sr., Rider
OL Hayden Wright, Sr., WFHS
K Jared Martinez, Jr., WFHS (tie)
K Connor Nutt, Sr., Rider (tie)

First-Team Defense:

DL Ben Scribner, Sr., Rider
DE Dylan McDormand, Sr., Rider
LB Clarke Daugherty, Sr., Rider
CB Tyler Weir, Sr., Rider
P Jared Martinez, Jr., WFHS

Second-Team Offense:

QB Dylan Sheffield, Jr., WFHS
RB D'ajshuan "D." Hickerson, So., WFHS
RB Esteban "Esse" Gutierrez, Sr., Rider
WR Kendrick "Bubba" Mathis, So., WFHS
WR Graham McGregor, Sr., Rider
WR Chance Garey, Jr., WFHS
OL Tyler Seale, Sr., Rider
OL Parker David, Sr., Rider

Second-Team Defense:

DL Blaine Townsend, Sr., Rider
LB Eddie Speight, Jr., Rider
CB D.J. Arnold, So., Rider
S Blake Brom, Jr., Rider

Honorable Mentions:

WFHS--WR Austin Murphy, OL Gabe Garcia, OL Steven Veitenheimer, OL Bucky Daws, DT Tyler Reyna, LB Chris Vasquez, CB Demarcus Ezell, OLB Louis Wilson, DT Jordan Neal, DB Daulton Davidson.

Rider--QB Malcolm Carter, WR Tyler Cardwell, WR Josh Aaron, WR Robert Jones, OL Ben Scribner, OL Daniel Olivo, OL Trevor Criddle, OL Clint High, DL Keegan Hart, LB Tyler Kotulek, LB Cody O'Donnell, LB Tyler Alaniz, DB Aaron Jantz, DB Mason Stone, P Cal Johnson.