MSU #20 in Fall Directors' Cup Standings

Midwestern State completed a successful fall season ranked 20th in the Learfield Sports Directors' Cup as released Wednesday morning by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics.

The Mustangs sent three teams to the postseason including a national semifinal appearance by the men's soccer program to earn 83 points while cross country earned 40 points with a 17th-place showing at NCAA Division II nationals and the women's soccer program reached the postseason for the first time in program history good for 25 points in the standings.
MSU amassed 148 points which are the second most to Abilene Christian in the Lone Star Conference.
The Wildcats reached the postseason in four sports including football (53 points), women's soccer (50 points), women's volleyball (50 points) and men's cross country (45 points). The total of 198 points put ACU in eighth place following the completion of the fall.
Other Lone Star Conference institutions include Texas A&M-Kingsville at 72nd (53 points), West Texas A&M at 80th (50 points) and Angelo State at 105th (25 points).
Grand Valley State (Mich.) tops the rankings with 411 total points which includes 100 points each as the Lakers claimed national championships in women's cross country and women's soccer. GVSU also placed third in men's cross country (85 points), fifth in women's volleyball (73 points) and received 53 points for qualifying for the football postseason.
Rounding out the Top 10 is Shippensburg (Pa.) (264), Central Missouri (259), Tampa (Fla.) (224), Chico State (Calif.) (220), Augustana (S.D.) (211), Colorado Mines (208), ACU, Rollins (Fla.) (190) and Adams State (Colo.) (185).
The Learfield Sports Directors' Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution's finish in up to 14 sports -- seven women's and seven men's.
The first Division II winter standings will be released Thurs., March 17, 2011.