MSU's Hagan Named to All-Region Team

Midwestern State's Chris Hagan was named to the Daktronics NCAA Division II All-South Central Region's first team Wednesday afternoon after voting was conducted by sports information directors in the region.

Joining Hagan on the first team was Missouri Southern's Skyler Bowlin, Tarleton State's Corin Henry, Washburn's Logan Stutz and Central Oklahoma's Dauntae Williams.

The five players named to the first team move on to the Daktronics All-America ballot.

Fort Hays State's Dominique Jones was originally released as a first-teamer, but was later bumped to the second team due to an oversight. He was joined by Missouri Southern's Jason Adams, Nebraska-Omaha's Tyler Bullock, Texas A&M International's Will Faiivae, St. Mary's Kevin Kotzur and West Texas A&M's LaDarius Hall.

Hagan, a preseason Sporting News All American, was named the Lone Star Conference South Division Player of the Year after leading MSU, the LSC and the South Central Region in scoring at 21.8 points per game.

The senior guard from Houston scored 20-or-more points on 17 occasions and netted at least 30 points in four games including an MSU single-game record of 50 points on Dec. 13 at Cameron.

Hagan became just the eighth two-year player in Midwestern history to score more than 1,000 career points. His 1,114 points are the third most by a two-year player in MSU basketball annals behind only former All-Americans Tony Forch (1,391) and Henry Crawford (1,320).

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable displays for virtually every sport at every level of competition with voting powered by

Midwestern State opens the NCAA Division II South Central Region Saturday against Corin Henry and rival Tarleton State at Hamilton Fieldhouse in Edmond, Okla. Tipoff is set for noon.