Multiple Counties Talk About Burn Bans

Several counties across Texoma are discussing burn ban orders this week.

Among those working to enact a burn ban is Wichita County. Commissioners voted to enact a burn ban for the next 90 days. They also issued a Disaster Declaration for the county due to extreme wildfire danger.

Hardeman County Commissioners also issued a burn ban, effective March 18, 2011 until mid-June.

Clay County Commissioners, on the other hand, discussed the issue of a burn ban at length and decided to not instate one. They ask the citizens of Clay County to use common fire knowledge and be mindful of the risks they could put themselves in.

Montague County Commissioners decided to leave their 90 day burn ban in place. The standing burn ban was first enacted in mid-February. Commissioners say it will continue unless it is lifted by Commissioners in future meetings.

Archer County Commissioners decided to extend their burn ban for another 30 days from March 14th, 2011.

Baylor, Knox, Throckmorton, and Foard counties are also currently under burn ban.

You can see the Texas Forest Service Burn Ban Map by clicking here.