MSU Softball Named Regional Coaching Staff of the Year

Midwestern State coach Brady Tigert, assistant coach Kasi Carroll and volunteer assistant Amiee Duke were named the National Fastpitch Coaches' Association Division II South Central Region coaching staff of the year for the second consecutive campaign as announced Monday morning.
The Mustangs capped off a banner season finishing the 2011 campaign as NCAA Division II national semifinalists led by a trio of All Americans in senior pitcher Brittney Tanner, junior third baseman Mallory Mooney and sophomore center fielder Elena Bennett.
Midwestern State earned its first regional championship while matching its Lone Star Conference record of 54 wins in 2011.
Tigert and his staff also earned the same honor following the 2006 and 2010 campaigns. He has led the Mustangs to the NCAA Division II postseason in seven of their eight seasons since restarting the program in 2004.
Tigert, who has posted a 329-137 (.706) mark in eight seasons at MSU, claimed his sixth Lone Star Conference divisional coach of the year honor this season. As the hitting coach, he mentored the Mustangs to their best season in team batting average (.332), runs scored (386), hits (612) and home runs (60).
Carroll, who just completed her first season as the program's first full-time assistant coach, directed the pitching staff to team records in ERA (1.49), opponent batting average (181) and strikeouts (608). The senior staff including Tanner and Kristina Gutierrez also set an LSC and school record with 27 shutouts.
Duke completed her first season as a volunteer assistant making her return to campus after completing her playing career at MSU in 2004 and 2005.
California-San Diego's staff led by head coach Patti Gerckens earned top national honors after leading the Tritons to the NCAA Division II national championship.