President Barack Obama Signs Disaster Declaration For Texas

President Barack Obama has declared a Major Disaster for parts of Texas ravaged by wildfires in April and early May.

The declaration allows federal aid to help state and local recovery efforts in 45 counties.

On April 15, Governor Rick Perry sent a letter to President Obama requesting a Major Disaster Declaration for the State of Texas.

The governor's request was denied on May 3 and Perry appealed the president's decision on May 26.

Counties qualifying for emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, include: Archer, Baylor, Clay, King, Throckmorton, and Young.

Texas is enduring one of its worst wildfire seasons in history because of high temperatures and drought.