MSU Roundup: Football Rolls, Volleyball Swept

FOOTBALL: No. 8 Mustangs roll on to 8-0, blow by ENMU 57-34

No. 8 Midwestern State improved its best start in school history to 8-0 by rolling to a 57-34 win over Eastern New Mexico Saturday afternoon at Greyhound Stadium.

The win clinches at least a share of the Mustangs' second LSC title and its first since 2009 when MSU claimed a tri-championship with Texas A&M-Kingsville and Tarleton State.

Midwestern can clinch its first outright LSC championship with a win over No. 20 West Texas A&M Saturday afternoon at Memorial Stadium. Kickoff is set for 2 p.m.

The Mustangs rolled up 492 yards of total offense including 339 on the ground paced by sophomore running back Keidrick Jackson who rushed for 128 yards on 11 carries for his second-straight and third 100-yard rushing game of the season.

The teams exchanged early scores as MSU clinged to a 14-13 lead after ENMU quarterback Wesley Wood rushed for a 1-yard TD with 11:22 to go in the first half.

Redshirt freshman Jimmy Pipkin set up the next scoring drive with a 64-yard kickoff return.

Junior quarterback Brandon Kelsey, who completed 12-of-13 passes for 143 yards and two touchdowns and rushed for 84 more yards and another score, burst for 14 yards and Jackson ran for 13 more before scoring from 4 yards out to give the Mustangs a 21-13 edge.

Then the Greyhounds (2-7, 1-5) blinked as MSU forced them into consecutive punts.

And the Mustangs' offense cashed in converting a pair of Lester Bush touchdowns to push the halftime advantage to 35-20.

It was the third consecutive half that Midwestern scored 35 points. MSU a string of 10 consecutive drives ending in touchdowns snapped at 10 when Gunter Elenburg was forced to punt with 42 seconds remaining in the first half.

The Mustangs turned the pressure up in the third quarter despite running just four plays which resulted in a 19-yard TD run by Kelsey and a 31-yard Kelsey-to-Keivin Swanson connection to push the MSU advantage to 50-20 heading in to the fourth quarter.

Eastern New Mexico quarterback Wesley Wood, who completed his first 12 passes of the game, finished the day with 299 passing yards and four touchdowns as the Greyhounds finished with 441 yards of total offense.

Pipkin finished the day with 66 yards on six carries including a 41-yard dash to pay dirt in the fourth quarter. Bush added 37 yards on eight carries with three touchdowns while Peter Smith had 24 yards on six totes.

Edgard Theliar had five catches for 57 yards and a touchdown to lead the receiving corps, while senior safety Pat Gardner paced the defense with nine tackles.

VOLLEYBALL: Mustangs fall at Tarleton State, 3-0

Tarleton State blistered its way to 47 kills and a .354 team hitting percentage to blitz Midwestern State 25-12, 25-20, 25-21 in Lone Star Conference play Saturday afternoon at Wisdom Gym.
The loss was third consecutive setback for the Mustangs, who dropped to 15-12 on the season and to 7-10 in league play.  MSU closes the regular  season with three road matches next week beginning at Cameron Tuesday night in Lawton. First serve is set for 7 p.m.
Tarleton State's duo of Flynn Harrell (14 kills, .414 hitting percentage) and Nikki McNorton (11 kills, .333 hitting percentage) combined for 25 kills for the Texans who closed strong in each set.
The TexAnns (16-13, 10-7) blistered their way to 16 kills and committed two errors in the opening set (.583) to jump out to the early lead then notched 17 kills and hit .270 in the second frame and had 14 kills and four errors (.286) in the final set.
Junior outside hitter Shelbi Stewart posted a strong game to lead MSU with 11 kills while hitting .304 while senior Hillary White added five kills and four digs.
Senior libero Kiara Jordan paced back row efforts with 16 digs, while freshman Kasey Decker paced Midwestern at the net with two total blocks.
The Mustangs remain locked in seventh place in the LSC standings, but are just one game ahead of Texas A&M-Commerce and Texas A&M-Kingsville as the three fight for the final two conference postseason berths.
The Lone Star Conference Championship postseason tournament runs from Nov. 10-12 at the site of the regular season champion.