MSU's Jordan, Kelsey Earn Major Honors

Jordan Becomes MSU's First NCAA Volleyball All-American

Midwestern State senior Kiara Jordan made history Wednesday as she was named a Daktronics second-team All American by the Collegiate Sports Information Directors of America.

Jordan becomes just the second player in program history to earn second-team honors joining Alaina Albrecht, who gained NAIA All America second-team accolades in 1990.

Albrecht also earned NAIA honorable mention in 1989 at outside hitter and was also an AVCA honorable mention All America in 1990.

Setter Jeannie Cash also gained NAIA All America honorable mention in 1990, while outside hitter Mandy Pinkerton earned the same honor in 1995.

Jordan is the first player to earn All-America mention during MIdwestern's NCAA era which began 1996.

The Gilmer, Texas native completed a stellar career by hauling in numerous accolades.

Jordan earned Daktronics All-South Central Region first-team honors and was an AVCA all-region honorable mention this season as she was named LSC LIbero of the Year for the second straight campaign.

Jordan ranked sixth in the nation averaging 6.03 digs per set while setting the program's single-season standard with 687 digs. Her 1,936 digs rate second  on MSU's career annals trailing only former teammate Shea Velasquez.

She notched 20-or-more digs in 14 matches this season while posting a season high with 40 against Tarleton State on Sep. 24 then matched the total against Incarnate Word on Oct. 20.

Midwestern State closed the 2011 season with a 15-16 mark advancing to its fifth straight LSC postseason championship tournament.

Kelsey Headlines 7 Mustangs on All-Super Region Team

Midwestern State's Brandon Kelsey earned Daktronics Super Region Four Offensive Player of the Year honors to headline contingent of five Mustangs to earn first-team honors as released Wednesday by the Collegiate Sports Information Directors of America.
Kelsey was joined on the first team by senior tackle Amini Silatolu, junior guard Ken Van Heule, sophomore running back Keidrick Jackson and junior safety Pat Gardner.
Kelsey, a Harlon Hill Trophy finalist, led the nation's top-ranked offensive attack which produced 531.9 yards of total offense and rated second in the nation with 323.5 rushing yards per game.
The junior from Arlington accounted for 967 rushing yards while completing 152-of-223 passes for 1,951 yards.
Silatolu earned first-team honors for the second consecutive season after transferring from San Joaquin Delta (Calif.).
The 6-3, 320-pounder earned All America honors from the Associated Press, American Football Coaches' Association, Daktronics and last season and is a candidate for the Gene Upshaw Award for the best lineman in NCAA Division II this season.
Fellow lineman Ken Van Heule, a 6-4, 320-pound guard from Hurst, enjoyed a stellar junior campaign at left guard after transferring from Cisco College where he earned NJCAA second-team All America acclaim in 2010.
Jackson ended the season as the Lone Star Conference rushing champion after running for 100-or-more yards in each of the last five games of the season. The sophomore from Arlington ran for 1,044 yards with 18 touchdowns.
Gardner, a junior from Kingwood, was named to the first team and was second on the MSU defensive unit with 56 tackles and six pass breakups from the safety position.
Senior defensive end Kevin Birdow and senior linebacker Jeremy Smith garnered second-team honors.
Each of the first-team selections advances to the All-America ballot.
The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA), with the online nomination and voting process powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.