Wichita County Commissioners Meet To Give Fire Departments Funds

Wichita County Commissioners will be meeting in a special session at 10 a.m. Monday.

One of the things on their agenda, is to approve a 2012 payment schedule for the seven rural fire departments including: Cameron Gardens, Kamay, Wichita East, Wichita West, Iowa Park, Burkburnett, and Electra. The total amount of funds to be divided is nearly $200,000, which is the same amount commissioners gave last year.

Wichita County Commissioners feel the rural fire departments give so much to the community, so they wanted to make sure the volunteers are appreciated and have what they need to protect Wichita County.