MSU Basketball Up to #19 in NABC Poll

Two-time defending South Central Region champion Midwestern State is slowly gaining traction in the National Association of Basketball Coaches' Division II Poll.
The Mustangs moved ahead four spots to No. 19 after improving to 10-0 for the fourth time in school history on the strength of claiming four wins over an eight-day stretch last week.
MSU has battled its way into the poll after receiving no votes in the preseason edition. The Mustangs have moved from 24th to 23rd and now to 19th in the poll.
Metropolitan State (Colo.) maintained the top spot with a 10-0 mark while Southern Indiana (9-0), Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.) (11-0), Kentucky Wesleyan (9-0) and Bellarmine (Ky.) (9-1) round out the top five.
The Mustangs are one of seven teams from the South Central Region to receive mention in the poll which also includes No. 6 Missouri Southern (11-1), No. 9 Fort Hays State (9-1), No. 10 Tarleton State (9-1) and No. 17 Arkansas Tech (8-1) while Southwestern Oklahoma State (7-1) and West Texas A&M (9-1) received votes.

The Mustangs are the lone unbeaten team in the South Central Region and one of just nine programs in all of NCAA Division II without a loss heading into Christmas.
Midwestern State returns to action on Friday, Dec. 30 against Oklahoma Wesleyan. Tipoff at D.L. Ligon Coliseum is set for 7 p.m.

MSU 8th in Directors Cup Standings

Midwestern State ranks eighth in the final fall standings in the race for the 2011-12 Learfield Sports Directors' Cup as released Wednesday morning.
The standings include the sports of cross country (men's/women's), field hockey, soccer (men's/women's), football, volleyball and water polo.
MSU enjoyed a memorable fall as four teams enjoyed postseason success.
The football team advanced to the second round of the NCAA Division II playoffs after completing the first unbeaten regular season in school history, which was good for 57 points in the Learfield Cup standings.
Koby Styles' cross country team claimed its fourth-straight Lone Star Conference team championship led by All American Brissia Montalvo. The Mustangs claimed their first regional title and finished a program-best 11th at the NCAA II Championships to earn 57 points in the Learfield Cup standings.
The women's soccer team completed an improbable run to claim its first Lone Star Conference championship since 1998 by overcoming one-goal deficits in the second halves of wins over West Texas A&M and Abilene Christian. The Mustangs continued their stellar play by taking a 1-0 result over St. Edward's for its first NCAA postseason victory the following weekend to earn 50 Directors' Cup points.
The men's soccer team closed the regular season with seven consecutive wins to earn its sixth-straight postseason berth which was good for 25 Directors' Cup points.
All told, the Mustangs amassed 185 points to top all Lone Star Conference competition and outdistanced the rest of the South Central Region.
Other Lone Star Conference teams earning points in the Learfield Directors' Cup included Abilene Christian (30th/123), Incarnate Word (73rd/53), Angelo State (80th/50), West Texas A&M (80th/50) and Eastern New Mexico (98th/45).
Other South Central Region programs included Pittsburg State (Kan.) (18th/145), Washburn (Kan.) (32nd/117), Central Missouri (42nd/98), Northwest Missouri (63rd/70), Dallas Baptist (66th/64), East Central (Okla.) (72nd/57), St. Edward's (80th/50), Arkansas-Fort Smith (104th/25), Arkansas Tech (104th/25) and Missouri Western (104th/25).
Grand Valley State (Mich.) tops the fall standings on the strength of a runner-up finish in women's soccer while its men's and women's cross country teams finished third at the NCAA II Cross Country Championships for a total of 260 points.
The Learfield Sports Directors' Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution's finish in up to 14 sports -- seven women's and seven men's.
The first Division II Learfield Sports Directors' Cup winter standings will be published March 15, 2012.