Six Mustangs Named to All-LSC Team

Courtney Bingham and Kim Jerrick led Midwestern State contingent of six to earn All-Lone Star Conference postseason honors announced Thursday night by league officials.
Bingham and Jerrick gained first-team honors while senior third baseman Mallory Mooney and junior center fielder Elena Bennett were named to the second team. Freshman shortstop Kelley Schaefer and junior first baseman Christina Roosmalen took third-team accolades.
Bingham, a junior outfielder from Arlington, leads the team with a .431 average while legging out a school single-season record of 19 doubles. The left-hander has also launched four homers and driven in 26 runs with nine stolen bases.
Jerrick, a sophomore catcher from Belle Plaine, Kan., has come on strong since being move into the leadoff spot late in the season. The right-hander sports a .393 average with 13 doubles and nine homers while driving in 33 runs.
Mooney, a senior third baseman from Mesquite, gained second-team honors after hitting .373 with nine doubles and two homers while driving in a team-high 47 runs. The sure-handed third baseman will graduate as the program's all-time leader with 28 home runs and 182 RBIs.
Bennett, a junior center fielder from Carrollton, is hitting .337 in 2012 with two doubles and a triple while stealing a team-high 31 bases.
Schaefer has enjoyed a stellar freshman campaign hitting .309 with 10 doubles, three homers and 37 RBIs while Roosmalen is hitting .322 with nine doubles and six homers transferring in from Southern Mississippi.
Midwestern State opens the 2012 Lone Star Conference Postseason Tournament Friday morning against Tarleton State at Pioneer Field. First pitch is set for 11:30 a.m.

Jordan, Veitenheimer Named MSU's Outstanding Student-Athletes

Kiara Jordan and Travis Veitenheimer were presented The Marie Morgan Award as Midwestern State's Outstanding Student Athletes Thursday at the annual MSU Student-Athlete Awards Banquet.
The award is presented to the most outstanding student-athlete at MSU for their tireless efforts on behalf of his team and the entire program and for exemplary participation throughout the community on behalf of Midwestern State University.
Jordan, a four-year volleyball letterman, became the first NCAA Division II volleyball All-American this past season with her selection to the second team of the Daktronics Division II All-America Team.
The 5-4 senior from Gilmer, Texas was also twice named the Lone Star Conference Libero of the Year and chosen to the All-Lone Star Conference team three times.
She has been a member of the MSU Student-Athlete Advisory Committee for the last three years, attended the NCAA Division II Leadership Academy, volunteered to collect food for the Wichita Falls Area Food Bank, worked with the Wichita Falls Habitat for Humanity, and coached in numerous free youth volleyball clinics.
Veitenheimer was a starter on the Mustangs Lone Star Conference championship team when he suffered a career-ending shoulder injury.
The 6-5, 275 senior from Windthorst has a 3.86 grade point average and has recorded the highest grade point average among male athletes all four years at MSU.  The pre-medicine major was the university's top biology student as a junior.
Veitenheimer has volunteered with the Association of Retarded Citizens (ARC), the Boys and Girls Club, coached Little League Baseball, has tutored other MSU students, assisted with fundraising for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, and served as a youth retreat leader for the St. Mary's Catholic Church.
MSU Alumni Doug Harmon and Nick Gholson were honored with the Mustangs Spirit Award for their outpouring of support for Midwestern State Athletics.
Harmon, is the president of the MSU Alumni Association and is a constant fixture at MSU athletic events.  He is a member of the MSU Athletic Hall of Honor and a past-president of the forerunner of the Mustangs Athletic Club, the M-Club.
Gholson, the sports editor of the Wichita Falls Times Record News, is a member of the MSU Athletic Hall of Honor.  He missed his first MSU men's basketball post-season game since 1980 this spring after he was diagnosed with cancer that he is successfully battling.

The men's and women's tennis teams were given the Community Service Award.
The Student Athlete Advisory Committee also announced the best teammate award for each of the 12 programs as voted by their peers.