MSU Volleyball: Three Mustangs Earn Postseason Honors

Stewart, Wallace Named to All-LSC Team

Midwestern State's Shelbi Stewart and Caitlin Wallace earned All-Lone Star Conference postseason honors Wednesday night when league officials announced annual honors.
Stewart, a senior outside hitter from Pflugerville, earned first-team honors, while Wallace, a junior middle blocker from Amarillo, was named to the second team.
Stewart paced the Mustangs' attack with 2.73 kills per set while nothing 10-or-more kills on 16 occasions twice putting down a season best 16 against Southeastern Oklahoma State on Sep. 1 then at Texas Woman's University on Oct. 26.
The 6-footer was tabbed LSC Offensive Player of the Week honors after being named MVP of the Colorado-Colorado Springs Invitational in September. Stewart followed a 12-kill, 9-dig effort against No. 12 Wayne State (Neb.) with kill/dig double-doubles against Franklin Pierce (14 kills, 10 digs) and Colorado-Colorado Springs (10 kills, 10 digs).
She finished the season ranked 17th in the league in hitting percentage (.238) and was 15th in kills (2.73).
Stewart completed her four-year MSU career fourth on the program's all-time kills list with 1,024.
Wallace was the model of consistency in the middle all season long for the Mustangs.
The 6-foot junior was the team's most efficient hitter averaging 2.50 kills per set while hitting a team-best .245.
Wallace notched at least 10 kills in 13 matches including a season-high of 16 against Texas-Permian Basin on Oct. 5.
She was also MSU's leader at the net with 0.50 blocks per set while notching four-or-more total blocks in 16 matches including a campaign best nine in a 3-0 win over Eastern New Mexico on Nov. 2.
LSC regular season champion Angelo State placed four players on the first team including senior setter Alex Woolsey, junior outside hitter Shelbi Goode, junior middle blocker Maddie Huth and sophomore libero Shelby Wilt.
Filling out the first team include senior setter Lacy Hayes and senior middle blocker Erin Dougherty of West Texas A&M, senior outside hitter Viktorija Jablonska and junior middle blocker Chloe Tate of Texas Woman's, senior middle blocker Rachel Robertson of Texas A&M-Commerce, and senior middle blocker Nikki McNorton and junior outside hitter Stacie Murrah of Tarleton State.
Special honors went to Robertson (Offensive Player of the Year), McNorton (Defensive Player of the Year), Woolsey (Setter of the Year), Goode (Newcomer of the Year) and Abilene Christian setter Sarah Siemens (Freshman of the Year).
Angelo State's Chuck Waddington was named Coach of the Year after leading the Rambelles to a 22-3 overall mark including a 15-1 run through the Lone Star Conference.
The LSC Postseason Tournament begins Thursday at Junell Center/Stephens Arena in San Angelo.

Aduddell Named to LSC All-Academic Team

Midwestern State's Kristan Aduddell was named to the Lone Star Conference All-Academic Team Wednesday night when league officials announced annual postseason awards.
The setter from The Colony boasts a 3.81 grade-point average majoring in mathematics.
The sophomore paced the attack with 5.85 set assists while splitting time at setter in Midwestern's 6-2 system.
Aduddell logged 20-or-more set assist in 19 matches this season including a season-best 35 in three-set win over Franklin Pierce (N.H.) on Sep. 7.
She displayed her back row ability while posting seven set assist/dig double-doubles notching a campaign-high 15 digs against Incarnate Word on Sep. 20.
Abilene Christian junior defensive specialist Caley Johnson, an accounting major from LaVista, Neb., garnered Academic Player of the Year honors with an unspecified grade-point average.
Filling out the all-academic squad are Angelo State's Emily Booth, Katie Coleman and Maddie Huth, West Texas A&M's Laura Iwuchukwu and Erin Daugherty, Texas A&M-Commerce's Rachel Robertson and Kayla Bond, Incarnate Word's Sarah Cardenas and Danielle Suarez and Texas A&M-Kingsville's Ali Insell.
The All-Academic team is chosen by the league's sports information directors, who select players on the basis of both athletic and academic achievement.
To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must have played at least 50 percent of team's contests, reached sophomore athletic and academic standing, completed at least one full academic year at the nominating institution and have a minimum 3.30 cumulative grade-point average based on a 4.0 system for her entire collegiate career.