MSU: Six Mustang Softballers Earn All-LSC

Vinson Leads 6 All-LSC Mustangs

Freshman slugger Katelyn Vinson highlighted Midwestern State's contingent of six on the 2013 All-Lone Star Conference team released Tuesday by league officials.
The Southlake Carroll High product garnered Freshman of the Year honors after authoring one of the offensive seasons in LSC history.
Vinson is challenging the league's all-time single season batting average record of .517 held by former East Central (Okla.) standout Coherence Hiesl, who set the mark in 1997. She would be just the third player in 20 years to finish the season with a .500-or-better average and the first since Hiesl achieved the standard.
Vinson finished the regular season hitting .513 setting a school record with 21 homers while driving in 63 runs. She ranks second in the LSC and is third in NCAA Division II in homers.
Vinson ranks fifth nationally in batting average, fifth in home runs per game (0.4), second in slugging percentage (1.007) and stands 11th with a .556 on-base percentage.
She is joined on the first team by senior outfielders Elena Bennett and Courtney Bingham, junior catcher Kim Jerrick and sophomore third baseman Kelley Schaefer.
Bennett is a four-year all-conference performer earning first-team mentions in 2010, 2011 and 2013 while earning second-team honors as a junior in 2013.
The Carrollton Creekview High product earned second-team All-America status as a sophomore in 2011 by the National Fast-pitch Coaches' Association and Daktronics.
Bennett ranked sixth in NCAA Division II with a .523 batting average and topped the LSC with 27 stolen bases before suffering a season-ending leg injury in mid-March at Central Oklahoma.
Bingham is a two-time All-LSC first-team performer also earning top mention as a junior in 2012 when she garnered second-team NFCA All-America status and was a Daktronics honor mention All American.
The Arlington High product hit .392 this season while leading the LSC with 22 doubles. She added five triples and four homers while driving in 59 runs.
Bingham is the LSC all-time leader in two-baggers with 71.
Jerrick garnered first-team All-LSC honors for the second-straight while enjoying one of the productive offensive seasons in program history.
The Belle Plaine, Kan. native ranks second in the LSC with a .436 average with 16 doubles and 19 homers. Jerrick drove in 54 runs from the leadoff spot while tallying a school record 67 runs.
She stands seventh nationally in runs per game (1.22), fourth in home runs and seventh in on-base percentage (.573).
Schaefer moved up from third-team honors as a freshman last season.
The Waco Midway High product ranks third in the LSC with a .426 batting average while smashing six doubles and 12 home runs. She stands second in the LSC with 67 RBIs and 12th nationally in runs driven in per game at 1.22.
Freshman outfielder Haley Howerton snagged third-team honors after hitting .337 with three doubles, a triple and 14 stolen bases.
LSC champion Texas Woman's University dominated the special awards as Katie Hines garnered Player of the Year honors and Brandie Lander was tabbed Pitcher of the Year.
TWU's Richie Bruister earned Coach of the Year accolades while Lander shared Newcomer of the Year acclaim with Angelo State's Sandra Serna.
Midwestern State opens LSC Postseason Tournament play against Tarleton State Friday afternoon at Schaeffer Park in Canyon. First pitch is set for 4:30 p.m.

MSU Trio Earns Golden Gloves

Midwestern State's placed three players on the Lone Star Conference Golden Glove team announced Tuesday afternoon by league officials.
Senior right fielder Courtney Bingham garnered honors for the second consecutive year and was joined by junior catcher Kim Jerrick and sophomore third baseman Kelley Schaefer.
Bingham committed a single error this season while playing the first 27 games in right field before taking over in center field for the final 28 games of the regular season for the injured Elena Bennett.
The Arlington product committed a single error while posting eight outfield assists.
Jerrick enjoyed a stellar season at the backstop position posting a .982 fielding percentage with five errors. She threw out six of 33 base runners while committing three passed balls.
Schaefer committed seven errors in 159 chances for a .956 fielding percentage in her first season at the hot corner.
Tarleton State's Randi Fentress (pitcher) and Kelsey Latta (second base), Angelo State's Morgan Spearman (first base), West Texas A&M's Alyssa Lemos (shortstop) and Meghan Slattery (left field), Texas Woman's Jordan Readicker (third base) and Lizzy Kelly (left field) and Abilene Christian's Keanna Winkfield (center field) filled out the team.
The Golden Glove Awards are determined by a vote of LSC head coaches based on defensive performance alone for all nine positions.
The Mustangs led the way with three selections while Texas Woman's, West Texas A&M and Tarleton State had two each. Incarnate Word, which posted the highest team fielding percentage in the league (.967), was shut out.

Track: Mack, Krezonoski Earn All-LSC Academic Honors

Midwestern State sophomores Cara Mack and Michelle Krezonoski earned Lone Star Conference Outdoor Track All-Academic honors Tuesday as released by league officials.
Both student-athletes were among the eight runners repeating academic honors from the LSC Indoor All-Academic Team released in February including runner of the Ewa Zaborowska of Harding (Ark.).
Mack, a mathematics major from Llano, carries a 3.94 grade-point average. She was named the Cross Country Academic Runner of the Year last fall. Mack also garnered United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches' Association Division II All-Academic status in 2010 and 2011 and is a two-time member of the LSC Commissioner's Honor Roll.
Mack boasts top times with a personal best 2:24.68 in the 800-meter run at the UTA Bobby Layne Invitational and 5:11.27 in the 1,500-meter run at the North Texas Spring Classic.
Krezonoski, a biology major from Thunder Bay, Ontario, carries a 3.78 GPA. She is a two-time All-LSC performer in cross country while earning USTFCCCA all-region honors in 2011. Krezonoski was named to the LSC Commissioner's Honor Roll in 2012.
Krezonoski boasts the top 10,000-meter time this season in the LSC pacing a 38:11.39 at the 2013 Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays. She always ran season bests of 5:10.97 in the 1,500-meter run at the West Texas A&M Spring Break Classic and posted an 18:57.19 in the 5,000-meter run at the same meet.
Also repeating academic honors this semester are Angelo State's Emeline Crutcher, West Texas A&M's Emma Love, Abilene Christian's Emily Hill, Incarnate Word's Shaneve Swift and Texas A&M-Kingsville's Samantha Alvarez.
Rounding the all-academic team are Harding's Kristen Celsor, Incarnate Word's Zariah Noyola, West Texas A&M's Brenda Sindet and Angelo State's Jordan Gray.
To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.30 GPA and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically. The Academic Runner of the Year and all-academic team are selected from the list of academically qualified runners, with the league's sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement.
Midwestern State competes in the Lone Star Conference Outdoor Championships Friday and Saturday as part of the Lone Star Conference Spring Sports Festival in Canyon, Texas.