Three Named TSWA 1st Team All-State

Three Named TSWA 1st Team All-State

Two Rider Raiders and a Graham Steer were named first-team all-state by the Texas Sportswriters' Association as part of a week-long unveiling of all-state teams.

Rider seniors Austin Hagy (pitcher) and David Pewenofkit (DH) were named to the TSWA 4A first team Thursday.

They were joined by Raider teammates Mason Stone (catcher), Nick Russell (shortstop) and Payton Geisinger (third base), all on the honorable mention list.

In 3A, Graham's Garrett Johnston earned first-team honors on the mound Wednesday after going 9-1 with a 0.86 ERA for the Steers, and was also named an honorable mention as a designated hitter.

Johnston's teammate Hunter Jones was named to the second team as a second baseman.

Rounding out Texoma honorees on the 3A list was Vernon's Brandon Urquizo, an honorable mention at shortstop.

In Class 2A, four Texoma players earned honorable mentions on Tuesday, three from the Henrietta Bearcats.

Joe Dell Williams was honored as a catcher, Philip Davis as shortstop and Ben Fletcher as DH. Holliday's Brandon Wright joined Williams as an honorable mention catcher.

On Monday in Class A, a trio from Archer County made the TSWA second team. Windthorst's Kellen Green (pitcher) and Ty Kirk (third base) joined Archer City's Dawson Reid, a catcher.