MSU W. Soccer: 5 Named to All-LSC First Team

Essary, Cottrell Highlight MSU's Contingent

Midwestern State placed five players on the All-Lone Star Conference first team Thursday night when league officials announced annual postseason honors at the LSC Postseason Tournament banquet.

Senior Kallie Essary and sophomore Ashley Cottrell took home special honors while Jeff Trimble garnered Coach of the Year accolades for the third time in his career also claiming the honor in 1998 and 2010.

Essary was named Goalkeeper of the Year after tying a program single-season record with eight shutouts posting a stellar 0.66 goals against average with a .857 save percentage.

The Carrollton native posted clean sheets in five of her 10 starts during LSC play and paced the conference in goals against average (0.68) and save percentage (.851) during league play.

Cottrell earned Offensive Player of the Year honors leading the LSC with eight goals while adding two assists. The Arlington native was also garnered top offensive honors in the preseason after tallying seven goals as a freshman in 2012.

Cottrell become the first player in MSU history to earn the LSC's top offensive accolades, while Essary joins former teammate Mallory Whitworth, who claimed the same honor in 2010.

The duo was joined on the first team by senior defender Anna Molen, junior midfielder Katy Catney and sophomore midfielder Morgan Hannon.

Molen started 17 matches for MSU at central back. The captain anchored a youthful back line which limited the opposition to 0.78 goals and 11.8 shots per game.

Catney notched three goals and added three assists this season from her central midfield position netting the game winner in a 1-0 win over West Texas A&M on Oct. 13.

Hannon's strong play in the midfield often served a critical role in the success of the Mustangs, but didn't always show up on her individual stat line. The Midland High product finished the season with three goals and two assists.

Hannon scored a goal and an assist to key MSU's 2-0 win over Southwestern Oklahoma on Sunday, but also tallied scores against Rogers State and Central Oklahoma earlier this season.

Midwestern State opens LSC Postseason Tournament play against Texas A&M-Commerce in the semifinal round Friday at the ASU Soccer Field. Kickoff is set for noon.

The winner moves on to face the victor of Friday's other matchup pitting Angelo State against West Texas A&M Sunday in the championship game beginning at 1 p.m.

2013 All-Lone Star Conference Awards

Offensive Player of the Year
Ashley Cottrell, Midwestern State
Goalkeeper of the Year
Kallie Essary, Midwestern State
Defensive Player of the Year
Rhea Belgrave, West Texas A&M
Newcomer of the Year
Fabienne Wilson, Eastern New Mexico
Freshman of the Year
Savannah Henderson, Texas A&M-Commerce
Coaches of the Year
Jeff Trimble, Midwestern State
Travis McCorkle, Angelo State
First Team
Player Team Pos. Year Hometown
Rhea Belgrave West Texas A&M D Jr. Kennedale, Texas
Vicky Back Texas A&M-Commerce D Fr. York, England
Anna Molen Midwestern State D Sr. Flower Mound, Texas
Renee Romero Eastern New Mexico D Jr. Albuquerque, N.M.
Savannah Henderson Texas A&M-Commerce F Fr. Mabank, Texas
Ashley Cottrell Midwestern State F So. Arlington, Texas
Sierra Anderson Angelo State F So. Wichita Falls, Texas
Morgan Hannon Midwestern State MF So. Midland, Texas
Maggie Schaffer Angelo State MF Sr. New Braunfels, Texas
Callie Annett Texas A&M-Commerce MF Jr. McKinney, Texas
Katy Catney Midwestern State MF Jr. Wichita Falls, Texas
Kallie Essary Midwestern State GK Sr. Carrollton, Texas
Second Team
Player Team Pos. Class Hometown
Caitlyn Conaway Angelo State D Jr. Kennedale, Texas
Lauren Perry Angelo State D Fr. Plano, Texas
Jordan Benfield Angelo State D Sr. Oak Point, Texas
Berklee Watson West Texas A&M D Sr. Amarillo, Texas
Erin Bolinger Texas Woman's D So. Plano, Texas
Sara Deeb Texas Woman's D So. Plano, Texas
Brionna Minde Texas A&M-Commerce F Sr. Richardson, Texas
Emily Davila Texas Woman's F Jr. Dallas, Texas
Mariel Parra Texas Woman's MF Sr. Kingwood, Texas
McKylie Calligan West Texas A&M MF Fr. Leander, Texas
Carolyn Armijo Eastern New Mexico MF So. Las Cruces, N.M.
Alyssa Prince Eastern New Mexico MF Jr. Las Cruces, N.M.
Yvette Bedoy West Texas A&M GK Sr. Garland, Texas

Essary, Saville Garner LSC All-Academic Honors

Midwestern State's Kallie Essary and Emily Saville garnered Lone Star Conference All-Academic honors Thursday night when league officials announced annual awards at the pre-tournament banquet.

Essary carries a 3.61 grade-point average majoring in interdisciplinary studies/Math (4-8), while Saville sports the same GPA as a Biology major.

Both seniors have played key roles in helping the Mustangs to an 13-4-1 mark this season.

Essary, a 5-4 goalkeeper from Carrollton, ranks among national leaders with a 0.66 goals against average this season while matching the school's single season shutout mark with eight clean sheets.

She has posted a .857 save percentage while starting each of MSU's 18 matches this season.

Essary garnered LSC Commissioner's Honor Roll status in each of her previous three seasons at MSU and was named to the Capital One Academic All-District 6 team earlier this month.

Saville, a 5-7 forward from Fort Worth, tallied two goals and dished out four assists in 18 games and 10 starts for the Mustangs this season.

She earned LSC Offensive Player of the Week after recording a goal and an assist in a 2-0 win Sunday at Eastern New Mexico.

Saville was also named to the LSC Commissioner's Honor Roll in each of her three collegiate seasons and was named to the Capital One Academic All-District 6 squad earlier this month.

Texas A&M-Commerce's Brionna Minde, a senior health promotion major, was named the league's academic player of the year. She started 16 games for the Lions ranking second in points (12) and assists (6). Minde is a three-time LSC All-Academic selection.

The All-Academic team is chosen by the league's sports information directors, who select the players on the basis of both athletic and academic achievement.

The LSC office does not release student-athlete GPAs in conjunction with its academic recognition program.

To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must have played in at least 50 percent of teams' contests, reached sophomore athletic and academic standing, completed at least one full academic year at the nominating institution and have at least a 3.30 cumulative grade-point average based on the 4.0 system for her entire collegiate career.

2013 LSC All-Academic Team

Academic Player of the Year

Brionna Minde, Texas A&M-Commerce

Women's All-Academic Team
Player Team Pos. Year Major Hometown
Brionna Minde Texas A&M-Commerce F Sr. Health Promotion Richardson, Texas
Berklee Watson West Texas A&M D Gr. Social Work/MBA Amarillo, Texas
Jordan Benfield Angelo State D Sr. Psychology Oak Point, Texas
Callie Annett Texas A&M-Commerce MF Jr. Accounting McKinney, Texas
Kassandra Thetford West Texas A&M D So. Accounting Canyon, Texas
Kallie Essary Midwestern State GK Sr. Interdisciplinary Studies Carrollton, Texas
Emily Saville Midwestern State F Sr. Biology Fort Worth, Texas
Laura Heron Texas A&M-Commerce D So. Health & Human Performance Portsmouth, England
Emily Krenek West Texas A&M MF So. Sports & Exercise Science Belton, Texas
Mariel Parra Texas Woman's MF Sr. Kinesiology Kingwood, Texas
Cadie Annett Texas A&M-Commerce MF Jr. Health Promotion McKinney, Texas
Trisha Killen Angelo State D Sr. Integrated Prof. Accountancy N. Richland Hills, Texas