MSU's Jerrick Receives National Award

MSU Sports
MSU Sports

Midwestern State senior catcher Kim Jerrick picked a final, big piece of hardware earlier this week at the National Fast-pitch Coaches' Association convention.

The organization tabbed the 5-10 Belle Plaine, Kan. native as the Diamond Sports NCAA Division II Catcher of the Year for the 2013 season.

Jerrick launched 19 home runs and drove in 54 runs from the leadoff position while ranking among national leaders scoring 70 runs and reaching base at a .559 clip. Her .813 slugging percentage also ranked as one of the best in NCAA Division II. The fleet-footed backstop also pitched in 16 stolen bases.

Jerrick earned first-team All-America status from the NFCA and Daktronics while leading the Mustangs to a 43-17 mark on the way to the program's eighth NCAA Division II postseason showing.

The two-time All-Lone Star Conference first-teamer also earned the league's Golden Glove award as the top defensive catcher. Jerrick threw out six would-be base stealers as only 28 even attempted to swipe a base during MSU's 60-game slate.

Jerrick is the program's all-time leader with 40 home runs and set the school standard by collecting a hit in 23 consecutive games spanning the end of the 2012 season and beginning of the 2013 campaign.

Diamond Sports sponsors the Catcher of the Year awards for high school and college members of the NFCA. Awards are presented in the following categories: NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA, NJCAA, Cal JC and High School.

The 2013 Catcher of the Year awards were determined by divisional committees made of NFCA member coaches.

Midwestern State opens the 2014 campaign at the West Florida Spring Tournament with a pair of games against powerhouse Valdosta State (Ga.) on Feb. 1 in Pensacola.

LSC to Host 2016 Men's Elite 8 in Frisco

The NCAA has awarded the 2016 Division II Men's Basketball Elite Eight to the city of Frisco, Texas as part of the largest set of host site announcements in association history Wednesday.  The Lone Star Conference and Frisco Convention & Visitors Bureau will host the event March 23-26.

The Elite Eight will take place in the state of Texas for the first time ever at Dr Pepper Arena, a multi-purpose sports and entertainment venue that seats about 5,000 for basketball.

"This is great news and an historic opportunity for the Lone Star Conference and its many constituents. The Division II Men's Basketball Elite Eight is one of the NCAA's premier events, and never before has it been played this close to home," LSC commissioner Stan Wagnon said. "In fact, this season's site of Evansville, Indiana, which is about 760 miles from Frisco, is the closest the event has come to us since the LSC joined Division II in the early 1980s."

"We owe a great deal of thanks to Marla Roe and LaChelle Evans with Visit Frisco, as well as Ed Reusch and Bill Herman at Dr Pepper Arena, for the organizational and planning efforts they've already and will continue to put forth. Certainly Frisco, Texas, has become known as a great sports destination, and the Lone Star Conference looks forward to assisting in the opportunity for Division II basketball players, coaches, and fans to enjoy all that Frisco has to offer," added Wagnon.

Frisco is located 20 minutes north of downtown Dallas and is home to 8 million square feet of retail and four professional sports teams.

"Frisco is very excited to partner with both the Lone Star Conference and the Dr Pepper Arena to bring this exciting championship to our city," Frisco Convention & Visitors Bureau Executive Director Marla Roe said.  "As host to the NCAA Division I Football Championship Game for the fourth year, we feel that we have proved ourselves capable of hosting successful NCAA championship events and have no doubt this one will be equally as successful!"

Additional site selections included Texas Woman's University and the Fort Worth Convention & Visitors Bureau as hosts of the 2015 and 2016 NCAA Women's Gymnastics Championships at the Fort Worth Convention Center Arena in Fort Worth, Texas.

The 2018 Division II Women's Golf National Championships will be held in the Lone Star State at the Wildcat Golf Course in Houston under the guidance of Houston Baptist University and the Harris County-Houston Sports Authority.

The NCAA also awarded a pair of regional championships to the LSC for the 2014-18 seasons.  West Texas A&M University is set to host the Cross Country South Central Regionals in 2015 and 2016 at the The Range in Canyon, Texas.

"We really want to thank everyone who put in a bid," said Mark Lewis, NCAA executive vice president of championships and alliances. "The competitiveness of the bids made it extremely difficult for the sport committees to select sites as there just weren't spots for all of the great bids we received. Ultimately the sites that were selected will provide our student-athletes, coaches and fans the best experience possible."

The new NCAA championship bid process creates the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 82 championships across a four-year cycle. Previously, selection announcements varied by sport. This process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan each championship experience.

Bidding for 82 of 89 NCAA championships began in July and 1,984 bid applications were ultimately submitted. Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in 523 total championship event sites awarded. The seven championships not included in the process due to preexisting site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I men's basketball, Division I football, Division I men's and women's golf, Division I softball and Division III women's ice hockey.