Wildcats Fall in Odessa, 5-1 - KAUZ-TV: Newschannel 6 Now | Wichita Falls, TX

Wildcats Fall in Odessa, 5-1

Posted: Updated:

Kyle Bauman scored his team-leading 19th goal of the season, but it was not enough to keep the Wichita Falls Wildcats (25-20-3) from dropping a 5-1 contest to the Odessa Jackalopes at the Ector County Coliseum on Friday.

The Wildcats found the back of the net first, and did so after a persistent forecheck. Josh Haverstrom grabbed a loose puck in the offensive zone, and skated towards the corner to buy time. Haverstrom then centered for Bauman, who lasered a shot past the Odessa netminder to make it 1-0 at 8:38 of the first.

Odessa responded as the first frame wound to a close however, as Razmuz Waxin-Engback buried a centering feed from Chris Taff to make it 1-1 at 18:24 of the period.

Wichita Falls controlled the second period, outshooting the Jackalopes 7-2 and hitting the iron three times in the frame, but it was Odessa who took a lead into the locker room, as Leo Lumm tucked a soft shot inside the right post to make it 2-1.

The Wildcats rang the iron for a fourth time in the early stages of the third period, but that was as close as they would come to scoring in the frame, as Odessa pulled away with three goals in the span of three minutes.

First, Connor Thie cleaned up a backdoor feed from Matt Beranek to double the Odessa advantage. Next, Alex Alger finished off a breakaway to make it 4-1, before Derek Brown finished off the scoring in the contest.

The Wildcats and Jackalopes return to the ice on Saturday to conclude their regular-season series. Puck drop is scheduled for 7:17 p.m. at the Ector County Coliseum. Video coverage will be available on FASTHockey.com, with an audio-only broadcast accessible via UStream.com.

1st Period
Wichita Falls - Kyle Bauman (Josh Haverstrom) 8:38
Odessa - Razmuz Waxin-Engback (Chris Taff) 18:24

2nd Period
Odessa - Leo Lumm (unassisted) 8:12

3rd Period
Odessa - Connor Thie (Matt Beranek, Tate Sykes) 6:30
Odessa - Alex Alger (Connor Chambers) 9:09
Odessa - Derek Brown (Alex Alger, Razmuz Waxin-Engback) 9:24