Netflix Phishing Scam - KAUZ-TV: Newschannel 6 Now | Wichita Falls, TX

Netflix Phishing Scam

Posted: Updated:
The Better Business Bureau is warning Netflix customers about a new phishing scam. 

Some customers trying to log into their Netflix account suddenly had a screen pop up saying that their username was suspended due to unusual activity on the account.  They are told to contact Member Services.  The number is not connected to Netflix at all, but rather an unaffiliated number in some foreign country. The scammer posing as a "Netflix support staffer" will then connect the customer with a "Microsoft Certified Technician."

As all this is going on, the scammers have downloaded any files of interest from your computer, sent you a bill for their services, and even asked you
 to take a photo of your ID and credit card for proof.  If you refuse to send the photos, the call will end and the scammers get away with any 
sensitive documents on your computer.

If you experience any of the components of this phishing attempt, the BBB recommends the following:
· immediately hang up the phone before you give these scammers any secure information
· make sure to change your username and password immediately. If you use that same password for other websites,
 make sure to change those as well.
· Always be cautious when using the Internet, even if you are on one of your favorite websites
· Look out for any suspicious activity and take the extra time to verify support numbers no matter where they come from.