Two Mustangs Named LSC Scholar-Athletes - Newschannel 6 Now | Wichita Falls, TX

Two Mustangs Named LSC Scholar-Athletes

 Midwestern State's Kim Jerrick and Tyler Tackett were tabbed Lone Star Conference Scholar-Athlete Award winners for the 2013-14 academic year as released Thursday by league officials.

Jerrick, a senior physical therapy major from Belle Plaine, Kan., earned the prestigious Marie Morgan Award presented to MSU's most outstanding student-athletes earlier this spring after capping off an outstanding playing career.

The two-time All-American finished her career as the LSC's all-time home run leader while topping seven all-time program lists including slugging percentage (.691), on-base percentage (.508), runs scored (225), home runs (56), total bases (469), walks (152) and times hit by pitch (44).

Jerrick helped the Mustangs to a national semifinalist showing as a freshman in 2011 and back to the NCAA Division II postseason in each of her junior and senior campaigns. She is the only player in program history to hit 10-or-more homers in each of her four collegiate seasons.

Tackett, a senior criminal justice major from Wichita Falls, has been a key member of MSU's defensive line while playing 43 games over the past four seasons.

The former Rider High standout accounted for 72 tackles including 28 solo stops and 7.5 tackles for loss while helping the Mustangs to back-to-back Lone Star Conference titles including a perfect 10-0 march through the regular season in 2011.

Midwestern advanced to the NCAA Division II playoffs and 2011 and 2012 after earning a berth in the Kanza Bowl in 2010.

Each academic year, the LSC presents a Scholar-Athlete Award to one male and one female student-athlete at each member institution. These student-athletes are selected as representatives of the outstanding accomplishments in athletics, scholarship and leadership that are displayed on each LSC campus during the year.

To be eligible for consideration, student-athletes must have participated at least two years in their sport and must have exhausted their athletic eligibility.

Besides representing each of the league's nine member institutions, this year's recipients represent 10 of the 16 sports that are sponsored by the conference.  Baseball and basketball had the most Scholar-Athletes with four each, while softball had three selections, football two, and five sports had one each.

The 2013-14 Scholar-Athletes led their respective teams to two conference championships and one tournament titles. 

Texas is home for 11 of the recipients, with two from New Mexico and one each from Oklahoma, Minnesota, Kansas, and Spain.

2013-14 LSC Scholar Athletes
Kim JerrickMidwestern StateSr.SoftballBelle Plaine, Kan.
Tyler TackettMidwestern StateSr.FootballWichita Falls, Texas
Christian SummersAngelo StateSr.BaseballSan Angelo, Texas
Karli KellermeierAngelo StateSr.BasketballWall, Texas
Ali BrownCameronSr.BasketballChattanooga, Okla.
Brad BlumerCameronSr.BaseballMounds View, Minn.
Brittany BuchananEastern New MexicoSr.Cross Country/TrackAlbuquerque, N.M.
Kyle LantzEastern New MexicoSr.BasketballAlbuquerque, N.M.
Alicia PerezTarleton StateSr.TennisMurcia, Spain
Alvaro MorenoTarleton StateSr.BaseballMcAllen, Texas
Brionna MindeTexas A&M-CommerceSr.SoccerRichardson, Texas
Devondrick WalkerTexas A&M-CommerceSr.BasketballGarland, Texas
Brandy RiveraTexas A&M-KingsvilleSr.GolfMcAllen, Texas
Derrick WallsTexas A&M-KingsvilleSr.BaseballSan Antonio, Texas
Bailey VrazelTexas Woman'sSr.SoftballDanbury, Texas
Alyssa LemosWest Texas A&MSr.SoftballGrapevine, Texas
Dustin VaughanWest Texas A&MSr.FootballCorpus Christi, Texas

Powered by Frankly