MSU's Oland Named to All-Nicklaus Team - KAUZ-TV: Newschannel 6 Now | Wichita Falls, TX

MSU's Oland Named to All-Nicklaus Team

 Midwestern State junior Derek Oland was honored once again for his outstanding performance during the 2013-14 school year as the Golf Coaches Association of America named him to the All-Nicklaus team on Monday.

The junior from McKinney, Texas/Boyd, was selected as one of the 24 top golfers from NCAA Divisions I, II, III, the NAIA and the NJCAA.

Oland was second in NCAA Division II with a 71.45 stroke average, winning five individual tournaments including the Lone Star Conference and NCAA Division II South Central/West Super Regional.

In 2014 he set a new MSU school record and set the Pensacola Country Club record by firing a 62 in the first round of the Argonaut Invitational and followed it with a 66 in the second round the same day. His tournament championship total of 13-under-par 203 is also the school's 54-hole record.

Oland became the first MSU player named to the GCAA's Division II All-America First Team following the season, after being honored as a two-time All-South Central Region performer.

The Lone Star Conference Champion was also honored as the league's 2014 Player of the Year and was selected first team All-LSC for the third straight season.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history's greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Awards in 1988. Additionally, The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men's golfer in Divisions I, II, III, the NAIA and the NJCAA.

Joining Oland on the All-Nicklaus team is Julien Brun of Texas Christian, Florida Southern's Tim Crouch, Greg Eason of Central Florida, Northern Iowa Area's Levi Fink, California's Brandon Hagy and Joel Stalter, Redlands' Bobby Holden, Daniel Jansen of Faulkner, Anthony Maccaglia of Oglethorpe, Oklahoma City's James Marchesani, Rochester's Nick Palladino, Patrick Rodgers and Cameron Wilson of Stanford, Georgia Tech's Ollie Schniederjans, Alabama's Robby Shelton and Bobby Wyatt, Barry's Adam Svensson, Nathan Tarter of Malone, William Woods' Julian Taylor, Scott Vincent of Virginia Tech, Central Alabama's Tim Walker, Hayes Weathersby of Mississippi Gulf Coast and Midland's David Wicks.
Powered by Frankly