LSC Commissioner Wagnon Resigns

The Lone Star Conference announced the resignation of Commissioner Stan Wagnon on Friday afternoon. Wagnon served seven full seasons as commissioner of the league, spearheading efforts such as the Lone Star Football Festival and implementing the creation of Media Days for football and basketball.

Before that he served as a Sports Information Director for both Midwestern State University and Tarleton State.

Below is the statement released by the LSC Friday:

The Lone Star Conference Council of Presidents today accepted the resignation of Conference Commissioner Stan Wagnon.
Associate Commissioner for Compliance Jay Poerner has been named Interim Commissioner.  A national search for a new commissioner will begin immediately.
"We certainly appreciate Stan's service as LSC commissioner and wish him well in his future endeavors.  Conference services and programs will carry on as normal under Interim Commissioner Poerner, in whom I have complete confidence," said Dr. Brian May, chair of the LSC Council of Presidents and president of Angelo State University.
"The LSC presidents see this leadership transition as an opportunity to accelerate our progress in making the Lone Star Conference the pre-eminent Division II conference in the nation," said May.
"We will be looking for a new commissioner who can build on the storied legacy of the Lone Star Conference and lead it to new heights of excellence," said May.
The LSC, with headquarters in Richardson, Texas, has nine member institutions with seven in Texas and one each in Oklahoma and New Mexico.