Stokes Leads 13 Mustangs on All-LSC Team

MSU Sports
MSU Sports

Midwestern State center Shadow Stokes headlined the Mustangs' contingent of 13 earning All-Lone Star Conference mention as released by league officials Thursday afternoon.

The senior from Kilgore became the third MSU player to earn an honor the Mustangs have dominated over the last five years -- Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Former consensus All-American Amini Silatolu, now in his third season with the Carolina Panthers, claimed consecutive honors in 2010 and 2011 before going in the second round of the NFL Draft. Former All-American Ken Van Heule claimed the accolade the following year in 2012.

Stokes is a two-time All-LSC first-team performer who was also tabbed to the All-Super Region 4's second team by Daktronics and Don Hansen's Football Gazette last season.

The 6-3, 290-pounder anchored an offensive line which paved the way for NCAA Division II's ninth best rushing attack (274.5 yards per game) as the Mustangs also ranked 14th in total offense churning out 493.7 yards per game.

The Mustangs placed three more players on the All-LSC first team including senior tight end Mark Strange, senior defensive tackle Bernard Afutiti and junior safety Marqui Christian.

Strange logged eight catches for 91 yards with two touchdowns, but used his strong blocking skills to aid MSU's rushing attack.

Afutiti logged 28 tackles from his defensive tackle position including five stops for loss and three sacks. He added three pass breakups and blocked two kicks this season.

The 6-1, 270-pounder from Fontana, Calif. closed the season with a seven-tackle performance against Tarleton State.

Christian, a two-time All-LSC first-team performer, recorded 10-or-more tackles in six of his eight outings this season including a career-high 18 against Eastern New Mexico then logged 16 more with an interception and two pass breakups in the season finale against Tarleton State.

The Spring native closed the year with 81 tackles including 3.5 for loss and one sack while posting two interceptions.

The Mustangs placed five on the second team including junior guard Case Winkler, sophomore running back Dante Taylor, senior defensive Travis Stephens, senior safety Dayvyon Henry and redshirt-freshman punter Mitchell Henton.

Redshirt-freshman John Rowell, sophomore wide receiver Statron Jones, senior running back Chauncey Harris, junior linebacker Daniel Laudermilk and freshman deep snapper Bobby Joe Nielsen gained honorable mention.

Midwestern State (6-4) completed its 15th consecutive season with a winning record.