MSU Roundup: Softball and Golf

Vinson homers twice to lead Mustangs past Cameron 11-8 in Game 1

Midwestern State put up five spots in back-to-back innings to over Cameron 11-8 in Game 1 Sunday afternoon at Mustangs Park.

The Mustangs, who improved to 21-18 on the season and 8-13 in Lone Star Conference play, take on Cameron (31-13, 11-10) in the nightcap later tonight.

Junior Katelyn Vinson keyed the outbreaks with a pair of homers including a three-run blast in the fourth inning and a two-run shot in the fifth for her 15th and 16th long balls of the season. The Southlake native also joined former teammate Kim Jerrick in MSU's 50 Home Run Club with Nos. 50 and 51.

Junior center fielder Haley Howerton drove a three-run double over CU center field Misty Dooley's head to give the Mustangs their first lead of the game at 9-8 in the fifth inning. Then Vinson followed with her second homer of the game.

Cameron screamed out to a 6-1 courtesy of Lauren Renneker's two-run homer in the first inning then the Aggies stretched out the lead with four runs in the third.

The Mustangs tied the game at 6-6 in the fourth keyed by three-run blast by Vinson followed by a solo shot over the right-field fence for Kelley Schaefer, who matched Mallory Mooney for the program all-time lead in RBIs with 183.

Sophomore Erin Knox earned the win in the circle to improve to 7-5 despite allowing eight runs -- all earned -- on 10 hits in five innings. She notched six strikeouts and walked one.

Sophomore Katlyn Holmes earned her third save of the season delivering two innings of scoreless relief as she fanned Breezy McComas and Tara Martini to strand three runners in the top of the seventh.

Vinson paced MSU's 12-hit attack going 3-for-4 with two homers while matching a career-best six RBIs.

Howerton, Schaefer and Shelby Carter added two hits for the Mustangs.

Schaefer becomes MSU's RBI leader in 10-2 loss to Cameron

Senior third baseman Kelley Schaefer delivered the lone highlight for Midwestern State becoming the program's all-time RBI leader as MSU fell 10-2 to Cameron in Game 2 Sunday night at Mustangs Park.

The Waco native drilled her 37th career home run over the fence in left-center field to lead off the third inning to pass former teammate Mallory Mooney (183 RBIs from 2009-12) driving in her 184th run.

But Midwestern left the bases loaded in each of the first two innings and stranded 10 allowing the Aggies to pull away for the victory as CU improved to 32-13 on the season and 12-10 in LSC play.

MSU accounted for anther run on an infield single by Haley Howerton to plate Taylor Bermudes.

The Mustangs' speed train accounted for seven of the team's 10 hits as junior Paige Stevens went 3-for-3 while Howerton and Bermudes had two hits each.

It wasn't enough to overcome Cameron's big bats as catcher Chelsea DeLong crushed a grand slam in the second inning and Sonora Zukerman launched a three-run shot in the fourth to account for the bulk of the Aggie explosion.

Cameron peppered MSU starter Tayler Jerrick for nine runs -- all earned -- on 10 hits in four innings as the Anaheim, Calif. native slipped to 5-6 on the season.

The teams close out the four-game set with a doubleheader Monday afternoon at Mustangs Park. First pitch is slated for 4 and 6 p.m.

Oland repeats as LSC Player of the Year

Midwestern State senior Derek Oland repeated as Lone Star Conference Player of the Year and teammate Tom Smith garnered top newcomer honors Sunday night at the league's annual awards banquet.

Oland ranks 19th in NCAA Division II with a 72.04 stroke average while leading the Mustangs to three tournament wins at The Territory Classic, The Classic at The Tribute and San Antonio Shootout while finishing second at the St. Mary's Rattler Invitational.

The McKinney product boasts five rounds in the 60s this season and has scored par-or-better tallies in 11 of his 23 rounds in 2014-15.

Oland, who was tabbed a first-team All-LSC performer for the fourth straight year, scored his ninth career individual title earlier this season at The San Antonio Shootout.

Smith, a sophomore from Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom, notched a 74.04 stroke average including five scores of par-or-better this season.

The right-hander, who was named to the second team, recorded four consecutive Top 10 finishes at The Territory Classic, Midwestern State Invitational, The Classic at The Tribute and San Antonio Shootout before finishing 10th at the St. Mary's Rattler Invitational.

Joining Oland on the first team were Cameron Cullen Stahl, Bradley Ferrell and Dylan McClure along with Oscar Sprolander of West Texas A&M.

Smith headlined the second team along with  Cameron's Zander Winston and Corey Bounds, West Texas A&M's Ethan Peterson and Texas A&M-Commerce's Hagan Wood.

Spolander was named LSC Freshman of the Year while Cameron's Jerry Hrnciar earned Coach of the Year accolades for the third consecutive year.

 McClure was named Academic Player of the Year and was joined on the all-academic team by West Texas A&M's Peterson and Logan Leggett as well as Kason Childress and Marcus Sanna of Texas A&M-Commerce.

The Lone Star Conference Championship tees off with two rounds on Monday at the Frisco Lakes Golf Club and concludes with a single round on Tuesday.

2015 All-Lone Star Conference Awards
Special Honors

Player of the Year
Derek Oland, Midwestern State
Newcomer of the Year
Tom Smith, Midwestern State
Freshman of the Year
Oscar Spolander, West Texas A&M
Coach of the Year
Jerry Hrnciar, Cameron

First Team

Derek OlandMidwestern StateSr.McKinney, Texas
Cullen StahlCameronJr.Lawton, Okla.
Bradley FerrellCameronSr.Carrollton, Texas
Oscar SpolanderWest Texas A&MFr.Solentuna, Sweden
Dylan McClureCameronSr.Trophy Club, Texas

Second Team

Tom SmithMidwestern StateSo.Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Ethan PetersonWest Texas A&MJr.Clovis, N.M.
Zander WinstonCameronJr.Dallas, Texas
Hagan WoodTexas A&M-CommerceSo.Longview, Texas
Corey BoundsCameronSr.Plano, Texas

Honorable Mention

Logan LeggettWest Texas A&MSr.Amarillo, Texas
Kason ChildressTexas A&M-CommerceJr.Sulphur Springs, Texas
Marcus SannaTexas A&M-CommerceSr.Sherman, Texas


LSC All-Academic

LSC Men's Golf Academic Player of the Year
Dylan McClure, Cameron

Dylan McClureCameronSr.MarketingTrophy Club, Texas
Ethan PetersonWest Texas A&MJr.FinanceClovis, N.M.
Kason ChildressTexas A&M-CommerceJr.MarketingSulphur Springs, Texas
Marcus SannaTexas A&M-CommerceSr.General BusinessSherman, Texas
Logan LeggettWest Texas A&MSr.MBAAmarillo,Texas