MSU Women's Golf Win First LSC Title

Campbell leads Mustangs to first LSC Championship

Midwestern State used its strength to knock down yet another goal on the way to claiming its first Lone Star Conference championship Tuesday afternoon at the Par-72, 5,834-yard course at the Frisco Lakes Golf Club.

The Mustangs closed out a 16-stroke victory paced by sophomore Sierra Campbell, who earned top individual medalist honors with a 3-over total of 147 firing rounds of 72 and 75.

"This was a great day for the girls," MSU coach Jeff Ray said. "Our depth paid off for us today. (Freshman) Sarah (Moore) was great yesterday, but struggled today. We still had a great score because of our depth."

Senior Brenna Moore recovered from an opening round 79 to fire a 1-over 73 to lead the charge as Campbell finished off MSU's first individual title with a 3-over 75.

"Brenna had great day and it's always good to see a senior play great her last conference tournament. She is a very determined and tough minded young lady," Ray said. "Sierra was great again. From tee to green she was in control. She was also solid from 50 yards and in.

Sophomore Kellie Martin saved her best round of the season for the best possible time matching her classmate with a final-round 75, while sophomore Hayley Dambold contributed MSU's final countable score with a solid 78 (+6).

"Kellie had her best tournament of the year. She has worked hard and stepped up for us when it counted," Ray said. "Hayley was 5 over after 7 but settled down and was able to give us a qualify score."

The Mustangs put away their third team tournament victory of the season in stunning fashion separating from the field by 16 strokes over West Texas A&M (614/+38) while Tarleton State and Angelo State tied for third with a two-round total of 616 (+40).

MSU was powered by three of the top four scores of the day as Brenna Moore carded a 73 while Campbell and Martin notched 75s along with Texas A&M-Commerce's Ali Leasor.

Midwestern freshman Sarah Moore delivered the best score of the tournament with a 3-under 69, but still managed a fifth-place finish despite firing a second-round 82 with a 7-over total of 151.

Brenna Moore and Martin finisehd tied for sixth with a total of 152 (+8) while Dambold was 20th with a total of 157 (+13).

Midwestern State competes in the NCAA Division II West Super Regional on May 4-5 at the Foxtail Golf Club in Rohnert Park, Calif.

Lone Star Conference Championships
Frisco Lakes Golf Club
Frisco, Texas
Par-72, 5,834 yards
Team Leaderboard
PlaceTeamRound ScoresTotalTo Par
1Midwestern State297-301598+22
2West Texas A&M297-317614+38
3Tarleton State300-316616+40
Angelo State302-314616+40
5Texas A&M-Commerce312-310622+46
7Texas A&M-Kingsville327-322649+73
Individual Leaderboard
PlacePlayer, TeamRound ScoresTotalTo Par
1Sierra Campbell, Midwestern State72-75147+3
2Beatriz Prados, Tarleton State71-79150+6
Isabell Jimenez-Perea, Tarleton State73-77150+6
Glory Jangthongsiri, West Texas A&M74-76150+6
5Sarah Moore, Midwestern State69-82151+7
6Kellie Martin, Midwestern State77-75152+8
Brenna Moore, Midwestern State79-73152+8
Casey Wild, Tarleton State74-78152+8
Courtney Ward, Angelo State73-79152+8
Judy Papenfus, West Texas A&M73-79152+8
Midwestern State Scorecard
1Midwestern State297-301598+22
1Sierra Campbell72-75147+3
5Sarah Moore69-82151+7
6tBrenna Moore79-73152+8
6tKellie Martin77-75152+8
20tHayley Dambold79-78157+13

Oland repeats as LSC top medalist, Mustangs fall in tiebreaker to Cameron

Midwestern State senior Derek Oland wrapped his second straight Lone Star Conference individual title in superb fashion Tuesday afternoon at the Par-72, 7, 129-yard course at the Frisco Lakes Golf Club.

The McKinney native carded three consecutive sub-par rounds on his way to a 6-under total of 210 finishing six strokes ahead of Cameron's Zander Winston.

But the Mustangs fell just short of delivering the program's second conference team title succumbing to Cameron in a one-hole playoff after the teams battled to a 2-2 tie in the final round of team medal match play.

"Derek was impressive in winning his second LSC championship," MSU coach Jeff Ray said. "Losing in a playoff for the championship was disappointed, but the guys had a great tournament."

Midwestern boasted a 7-shot advantage had the tournament played out in stroke play. Still, the Mustangs were within a single stroke of claiming the title.

Oland defeated Cameron's Cullen Stahl by two strokes, while sophomore Luke Thomas beat CU's Dylan McClure by one to account for Midwestern's victories.

Cameron got a four-stroke win by Bradley Ferrell over Thomas Smith and a 3-stroke victory by Zander Winston over Will Mullins.

MSU's Jared Baker played Corey Bounds to a draw as both players fired an even-par 72.

Other individual finishes for the Mustangs included a fifth-place finish by Smith (222/+6), eighth place for Thomas (223/+7), 10th place for Baker (224/+8) and 13th for Mullins (226/+10).

Midwestern State competes in the NCAA Division II West Super Regionals on May 4-6 at the Hiddenbrooke Golf Club in Vallejo, Calif.

Lone Star Conference Championships
Frisco Lakes Golf Club
Frisco, Texas
Par-72, 7,129 yards
Final Individual Leaderboard
PlacePlayerRound ScoresTotalTo Par
1Derek Oland, Midwestern State71-69-70210-6
2Zander Winston, Cameron72-70-74216E
3Cullen Stahl, Cameron75-71-72218+2
4Bradley Ferrell, Cameron71-76-74221+5
5Hagan Wood, Texas A&M-Commerce73-73-76222+6
Thomas Smith, Midwestern State71-73-78222+6
Logan Leggett, West Texas A&M71-81-70222+6
8Luke Thomas, Midwestern State73-74-76223+7
Kason Childress, Texas A&M-Commerce74-73-76223+7
10Dylan McClure, Cameron73-74-77224+8
Jared Baker, Midwestern State75-73-76224+8
12Ethan Peterson, West Texas A&M73-72-80225+9
13Will Mullins, Midwestern State79-70-77226+10
Oscar Spolander, West Texas A&M76-72-78226+10
15Cade Grimm, Texas A&M-Commerce77-74-76227+11
Marcus Sanna, Texas A&M-Commerce74-75-78227+11
17Benjamin Kirkes, West Texas A&M78-74-76228+12
18Corey Bounds, Cameron76-78-76230+14
19Carson Greathouse, West Texas A&M78-75-78231+15
20Casey Cochran, Texas A&M-Commerce81-82-77240+24