MSU's Casey Named LSC Academic POTY

Midwestern State junior Kayla Casey earned Lone Star Conference Academic Player of the Year honors as released by league officials Thursday afternoon.

The junior from Franklin, Texas sports a 3.85 grade-point average as an elementary education major.

Casey was an LSC All-Academic Team selection last season and an Intercollegiate Tennis Association Scholar Athlete in 2013 and 2014. She was also a Capital One Academic All-District performer a season ago.

Casey, who is currently 34th in the ITA national singles rankings, was an ITA Regional Player to Watch in 2014 and finished with a No. 20 national doubles ranking with Taylor Coffman last season.

The 5-5 right-hander amassed 87 career dual victories including an 8-7 mark at the No. 1 singles position this season while going 13-6 in doubles play to help the Mustangs to a No. 14 national ranking.

Junior Maddie Schorlemmer also garnered LSC All-Academic accolades for the first time. She boasts a 3.67 grade-point average and was named the Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities and Social Sciences Psychology Student of the Year for the 2014-15 academic year.

The Argyle native enjoyed a stellar bounceback campaign after missing much of the 2014 season due to injury. She carries an 11-8 singles mark while going 15-4 in doubles teaming with sophomore Paige Boykin to help the Mustangs to a second consecutive Lone Star Conference championship.

Joining Casey and Schorlemmer on the LSC All-Academic Team are Texas A&M-Kingsville's Marija Dimitrovska and Mariaxi Herrera along with Samantha Wood and Paula Gutierrez of Cameron.

To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.30 grade-point average and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically.

The Academic Player of the Year award and All-Academic teams are selected from the list of academically qualified players with the league's sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement.

Midwestern State opens Lone Star Conference Postseason Tournament play Friday morning at the Streich-Henry Family Tennis Center in Lawton. First serve is set for 10 a.m.