Two MSU Tennis Stars Earn National Recognition

MSU Sports
MSU Sports

Midwestern State's Kacper Boborykin and Taylor Coffman earned Intercollegiate Tennis Association honors released Wednesday afternoon.

Boborykin, a senior Neunkirchen, Germany, was tabbed the national Most Improved Senior of the Year, while Coffman, a senior from Houston, garnered top regional honors in the same category.

Boborykin, a 2014 ITA Regional Player to Watch, went 14-8 in singles during the dual match season, playing all but one match for the Mustangs in the top spot.

He started the year outside the ITA Division II National Singles Rankings, but finished the regular season at No. 30.

Boborykin registered a 16-7 dual match doubles record and is ranked ninth in the South Central region.

He surpassed 100 career dual match victories this season, piling up over 80 combined singles and doubles wins in the last two years.

As the team's lone senior, Coffman led Midwestern State on an historic run advancing to the NCAA Division II national quarterfinals for the first time in program history.

The Northland Christian High product posted a 12-7 record dual singles play primarily at the No. 2 position.

Coffman teamed with junior Kayla Casey to finish the regular season ranked 25th in the ITA Division II National Doubles Rankings. The tandem combined for a 15-7 record at the No. 1 position.

Coffman completed her career with exactly 100 dual match victories ranking sixth on MSU's all-time career wins list.

Scott Linn earned his second consecutive ITA Regional Coach of the Year honor on the men's side leading the Mustangs to their highest national ranking ending the regular season at No. 12. MSU fell in the South Central Region finals.

Former Midwestern State standout Colby Meeks was named ITA Assistant Coach of the Year helping the Cameron women's team to a successful season. Meeks, who is working toward his master's at CU, earned All-Lone Star Conference honors in singles and doubles in 2012 and 2013 while helping the Mustangs to the NCAA Division II Elite Eight.