Two MSU Golfers Earn Ping All-Region Honors

Midwestern State's Derek Oland and Thomas Smith earned PING All-South Central Region honors for the third consecutive year as released Wednesday by the Golf Coaches' Association of America (GCAA).

Oland, a senior from McKinney, closed his storied career as a two-time Lone Star Conference Player of the Year while winning the league's top individual medalist honors in each of the past two seasons. He was an All-Lone Star Conference first team pick in each of his four collegiate campaigns.

Oland, who was named a first-team All American by PING in 2014, also earned all-region honors following the 2013 and 2014 seasons. He was also selected to the GCAA All-Nicklaus Team in 2014 on his way to an NCAA Division II Super Region individual title.

He finished his senior campaign ranked 17th in NCAA Division II in stroke average at 72.41.

Oland placed in the Top 10 in seven of his 12 outings in 2015 claiming victories at the San Antonio Shootout as well as the LSC Championships for his 10th and 11th individual career tournament wins.

Oland boasted 20 rounds in the 60s over the past four seasons and delivered par-or-better scores in 47 of his 117 career rounds.

Smith earned LSC Newcomer of the Year honors and was a second-team all-league selection after posting a 74.28 stroke average helping the Mustangs to three team tournament wins in 2014-15.

The sophomore from Stoke-on-Trent, England posted six Top 10 finishes in 12 tournament appearances including a season-low round of 68 at The Classic at The Tribute on Oct. 28, 2014.

Smith posted team countable scores in each of his 29 competition rounds with par-or-better tallies.

Also earning 2015 PING All-South Central Region honors are Tanner Alder of Rogers State (Okla.); Bradley Ferrell of Cameron; Garrett Fey of Dallas Baptist; Nathaniel Goddard of Colorado Christian; Calvin Hill of Western New Mexico; Patrick Skakel of Colorado; Oscar Spolander of West Texas A&M; Dillon Van Essen of St. Edward's; and Harry Wetton of Western New Mexico.