Mustangs move up to No. 6 in D2 Media Poll

Midwestern State moved up one spot to No. 6 in the D2 Media Poll released Wednesday afternoon by the D2 Sports Information Directors of America.
The Mustangs opened the season with a convincing 103-52 win over Oklahoma City Sunday night at D.L. Ligon Coliseum. Led by senior guard Bretson McNeal's six triples, MSU connected on 14 3-pointers as a team -- the most since the 2008-09 season.
MSU advanced to postseason play in each of the last seven years and in eight of the last nine making NCAA Division II Elite Eight runs in 2010, 2011 and 2012.
The Mustangs have also posted at least 20 wins in each of the last seven campaigns claiming Lone Star Conference championships in 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2014 during the span.
Midwestern is one of five teams from the South Central Region to receive mention in the poll joining No. 2 Tarleton State, No. 14 Colorado Mines and No. 24 Arkansas-Fort Smith while Angelo State is receiving votes.
Midwestern State heads to Colorado to take on Colorado State-Pueblo on Thursday and Adams State (Colo.) on Saturday. Both games tipoff at 8 p.m. (Central Time).

D2 Media Poll sponsored by D2SIDA
Nov. 17, 2015
RankSchool (1st votes)RecordPointsLast
1Bellarmine (Ky.) (10)2-03932
2Tarleton State (Texas) (4)2-03843
3California Baptist (1)5-03506
4West Liberty (W. Va.)2-03454t
5Mount Olive (N.C.)2-031014
6Midwestern State (Texas)1-03037
7Barry (Fla.)1-029812
8Minnesota State-Moorhead4-126513
9Drury (Mo.)1-023320
10Central Missouri2-023123
11Southern Connecticut State2-022718t
12Augustana (S.D.)0-12211
13Chico State (Calif.)1-019417
14Colorado Mines2-018718t
15West Georgia2-0153RV
16Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.)1-11404t
17Bowie State (Md.)2-0134NR
18King (Tenn.)2-0131NR
19Ferris State (Mich.)2-097RV
20Western Oregon2-092RV
21Bentley (Mass.)2-091RV
22Cal Poly Pomona2-06422
23Northwest Missouri State1-15810
24Arkansas-Fort Smith2-035RV
25Union (Tenn.)2-025NR
Others Receiving Votes: Alabama-Huntsville; Angelo State; Ashland (Ohio); Augusta (Ga.); Delta State (Miss.); Fairmont State (W. Va.); Indiana (Pa.); Indianapolis (Ind.); Lake Superior State (Mich.); Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.); Lynn (Fla.); Minnesota State-Mankato; Saginaw Valley State (Mich.); North Carolina-Pembroke; Washburn (Kan.); Western Washington.