11 elected officials take the oath of office in Wichita County

11 elected officials take the oath of office in Wichita County

WICHITA FALLS, TX (KAUZ) - Election day was nearly two months ago. But, Sunday afternoon eleven elected officials in Wichita County were sworn in.

The Wichita County Sheriff's Office color guard posted the colors.

Wichita County Judge Woody Gossom provided the invocation.

All took their oath of office in a crowded 30th District Courtroom.

Judge Gossom shared what he finds so special about the ceremony.

"You hit refresh if you're a returning official. If you're a new official you get (see) the county family of office holders and personnel together. I think it's just a nice thing to come back for that tradition, that requirement, that ceremony," Judge Gossom said.

Most of the elected officials had their spouses hold a bible while they took their oath while others invited their grandchildren to participate.

Here is a list of all the elected officials who were sworn in Sunday afternoon:

78th District Court Judge Barney Fudge
89th District Court Judge Charles Barnard
Sheriff David Duke
Commissioner-Elect Precinct 1     Mark Beauchamp
Commissioner Precinct 3 Barry Mahler
Tax Assessor/Collector Tommy Smyth
Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Place 1 Janice Ralston Sons
Constable Precinct 1 Mark Brewer
Constable Precinct 2 Tom Black
Constable Precinct 3 David Blackerby
Constable Precinct 4 James Gowen

Samantha Forester, Newschannel 6

Copyright 2016 KAUZ All Rights Reserved