Gov. Abbott declares state of disaster for 6 Texas counties

TEXAS (KAUZ) - Governor Greg Abbott declared a State of Disaster for six counties in the Texas Panhandle.

According to the Office of the Governor, Gov. Abbott declared a State of Disaster for Gray, Hemphill, Lipscomb, Ochiltree, Roberts, and Wheeler counties following major wildfires.

The state has asked the United States Department of Agriculture for a Secretarial Disaster Designation to activate the USDA Farm Service Agency's Emergency Loan Program. This loan would help farmers and ranchers rebuild from losses in the fire.

"This week's wildfires have had a devastating impact on a significant portion of the Texas Panhandle," said Gov. Abbott. "Texans have always been resilient in their response to disasters and this time will be no different."

Gov. Abbott granted a waiver to hay carriers in the Panhandle and asked the USDA to accelerate the temporary suspension of grazing restrictions.

Copyright 2017 KXXV. All rights reserved.