Burkburnett administrator a finalist for Superintendent of the Year Award

Burk's Tylor Chaplin up for SOTY Award

WICHITA FALLS, Texas (TNN) - Five public school administrators from across Texas were selected as state finalists for the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program recognizes exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership, and has since 1984.

The 2019 finalists included Dr. Tylor Chaplin of Burkburnett ISD. Chaplin has 12 years of administrative experience. He has been superintendent of Burkburnett ISD for four years and serves approximately 3,300 students. The committee cited his passion for protecting public education’s future and for civic involvement. The committee noted his efforts to be involved at every level in the district – whether visiting each campus to greet arriving students or being inclusive when gathering input and ideas to make sure the district and students are future-ready. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Tarleton State University and his doctorate from Lamar University.

Congratulations, Dr. Chaplin!

Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance and commitment to public involvement in education. Superintendents from any of the state’s local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards.

The 2019 Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 21 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas, Texas.

The districts of the winning superintendent and state finalists will receive an award from Balfour.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve approximately 5.3 million students.

Copyright 2019 Texoma News Network. All rights reserved.