Gov. Abbott extends self-isolation executive order for new states and cities

Gov. Abbott extends self-isolation executive order for new states and cities

WICHITA FALLS, Texas (TNN) - Texas Governor Greg Abbott has issued a proclamation in regards to his executive order from last Thursday.

Gov. Abbott added three new states and four new cities to his executive order that requires anyone entering the state of Texas from the following states and cities to self-isolate for 14 days:

  • State of California
  • State of Connecticut
  • State of Louisiana
  • State of New Jersey
  • State of New York
  • State of Washington
  • City of Atlanta
  • City of Chicago
  • City of Detroit
  • City of Miami
  • City of New Orleans

Failure to comply with the order can result in either a $1,000 fine, 180 days in jail or both.

Anyone who quarantines because of this order is not allowed to visit public places nor have visitors in or out of their quarantine area, with an exception for physicians and health care providers.

Gov. Abbott said the state’s response is focused on slowing the spread of COVID-19 over the next few weeks.

He also encouraged everyone to continue to practice social distancing and to wash your hands.

The order comes from the advice of Dr. Anthony Fauci and the COVID-19 Task Force.

Governor Abbott Issues Executive Order Mandating 14-Day Quarantine For Travelers Arriving From CA, LA, WA, Atlanta, Chicago, Detroit, and Miami

03/30/2020 09:08 AM CDT

The Governor issued a proclamation regarding his prior Executive Order mandating a self-quarantine for individuals arriving from the New York Tri-State Area and New Orleans, Louisiana.

WHEREAS, I, Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas, issued a disaster proclamation on March 13, 2020, certifying under Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code that the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) poses an imminent threat of disaster for all counties in the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, on March 26, 2020, Executive Order GA-11 imposed a mandatory self-quarantine of 14 days for air travelers flying to Texas from certain areas experiencing substantial community spread of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, Executive Order GA-11 provided that additional states or cities could be added to that mandatory self-quarantine by proclamation thereafter.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas, by virtue of the power and authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the State of Texas, do hereby add the following states and cities, effective at noon on March 30, 2020, to the list set forth in Executive Order GA-11:

State of California;

State of Louisiana;

State of Washington;

City of Atlanta, Georgia;

City of Chicago, Illinois;

City of Detroit, Michigan; and

City of Miami, Florida.

This proclamation shall remain in effect and in full force for as long as Executive Order GA-11 is in effect and in full force, unless otherwise modified, amended, rescinded, or superseded by the governor.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and have officially caused the Seal of State to be affixed at my office in the City of Austin, Texas, this the 29th day of March, 2020.

Governor Greg Abbott

Copyright 2020 Texoma News Network. All rights reserved.